Big Sandy Area Community Action Program BSACAP is extending the deadline to submit applications for their annual scholarships to August 7, 2020.

Each year BSACAP distributes over $7,000 in scholarships to students in the Floyd, Johnson, Martin, Magoffin, and Pike County area. The nonprofit organization will be offering ten $500 academic scholarships and one $2,000 Eula Hall Community Advocate Scholarship. Scholarships are funded through the Community Service Block Grant.

The Eula Hall Community Advocate Scholarship is offered to students majoring in Social Work, Human Services, Public Services, or related fields. Applicants must be in at least their third year of post-secondary study, must have a record of volunteerism, and must fulfill the requirements of the Community Services Block Grant (CSBG) Scholarship application.

The agency will also be offering ten $500 CSBG Academic Scholarship to students in the area.

BSACAP Executive Director Wanda Thacker said, “We realize the pandemic may have placed a strain on some students’ abilities to gather the needed materials and meet the deadline, so we wanted to offer a little extra time so that no one would have to miss out because of coronavirus-related delays.”

If you are a student entering or returning to college or vocational school this fall and are in need of financial assistance, you may be eligible for the Community Services Block Grant (CSBG) Academic Scholarship.

Applicants must provide the following information and/or documentation to apply for the scholarship:

  • Meet income eligibility as determined by the Federal Poverty Guidelines
  • Provide proof of residency within the BSACAP service area via utility bill or piece of first class mail postmarked within 30 days of application
  • Complete and sign an application available online or through staff
  • Complete a Family Profile according to CSBG guidelines (Please contact a staff member to complete this portion via telephone)
  • Provide proof of a high school diploma or GED
  • Provide proof of cumulative GPA of 2.0 or better from last semester of high school or last completed semester of college
  • Provide two letters of reference
  • Provide proof of enrollment or acceptance in a post-secondary educational institution for the Fall 2020 semester/term
  • Write an essay on why they feel they should receive the award

Applicants who have earned a 4-year degree or are pursuing education levels of Master’s Degree and above are not eligible. BSACAP staff and family members of staff are not eligible to apply.

For further information or to get an application, applicants may contact the Big Sandy Area Community Action Program staff in their county via telephone or by emailing Applications will be available online at Completed applications and required documentation must be received by mail no later than 4:30 p.m. on Friday, August 7, 2020. Scholarships will be awarded no later than August 31, 2020.

Office hours are 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Office numbers are as follows:

  • Floyd County – (606) 874-3595
  • Johnson County – (606) 789-6515
  • Magoffin County –(606) 349-2217
  • Martin County – (606) 298-3217
  • Pike County – (606) 432-2775

Scholarship funding is made possible by Community Services Block Grant with funds made available by the Cabinet for Health and Family Services and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.